Day 1- Again (Again)

  DSC_0123-2

I believe I have almost as many of these “Starting Again” posts as I do progress posts!  I mean, really. It’s almost embarrassing.

But it’s real.  And I know I’m not the only one on the merry-go-round.  So I’m going to own it, and not be ashamed… because if I don’t keep trying then I’ll never reach my goal!

Recap (Again)):  I began my journey nearly 2 years ago after being diagnosed with borderline diabetes and Idiopathic Intercranial Hypertension (also known as Pseudotumor Cerebri).  Between July 2014 and February 2015, I lost 60 lbs (from 330 lbs to 270 lbs) by eating a modified Paleo diet.  In March 2015 I had surgery, followed by  a year working way to much and a battle with severe depression.  I’m happy to say I’ve made some changes to my life, and am on the uphill swing.

Over the last year I’ve fluctuated between 270 Lbs and 300 lbs.  Today I start again. (I’ve adjusted the weight to my heaviest. I deserve credit for those pounds lost, don’t I? Starting measurements are from when I weighed 308)

                                   Starting                    Current                       (Lost)

Weight                      330                              301                                29

Neck                          17 .5″                         17.0″                              0.5″

Bust                            51″                              50″                                 1″

Waist                         52.5″                            53″                               -0.5″

Hip                             60″                               58″                                2″

Thigh                          30″                               30″                                0″

Calf                             21″                                20″                                 1″

 

I have learned from previous uses of paleo eating that I am less hungry and generally only eat 2 meals a day (about 10am and about 430pm) I like the paleo lifestyle because my life isn’t centered around eating 3 meals a day at scheduled times.  I only eat when I’m hungry, and occassionally I will even fast for short periods.  For this reason, when I do my meal planning (an absolute MUST if I am to be successful), I only plan two meals a day.  If I get hungry in between, I fall back on leftovers. The leftovers I don’t eat, go into the freezer for those days that I fail to plan, or plans change and I just don’t have time to make adjustments.

My general routine is to do my meal planning Saturday morning, when I’m relaxed and have time to browse for new recipes. I’ll be sharing that plan on Mondays..  And in the future weigh ins will be on Sunday.  Getting back in the swing of meal planning is a challenge. How could I forget all the meals I loved so well, and were so easy to make!  This will once again be a learning curve!

Breakfasts

  • Monday:  2 Hard Boiled Eggs, 3 Sausage Links, 1 peach
  • Tuesday:  Paleo Waffles, Sausage Links, Banana
  • Wednesday: Baked Egg in 1/2 Avocado, sweet potato hash, sausage links
  • Thursday:  2 Hard Boiled Eggs, 3 Sausage Links, 1 Clementine
  • Friday:  Fried Eggs, Sausage, 1 clementine
  • Saturday:Paleo Muffins, 2 hard boiled Eggs, banana
  • Sunday brunch: Omelette ‘muffins’ (with leftovers for next week), Paleo banana bread

Dinners

  • Monday: Crab Legs with Clarified Butter, mashed potatoes, asparagus
  • Tuesday: Crock Pot Pulled Pork, sweet potato fries, coleslaw
  • Wednesday: split pea soup, grilled cheese on paleo bread
  • Thursday: Meatballs in marinara, zuchinni fritters
  • Friday: Balsamic Chicken, Brocolli, Rice
  • Saturday: Leftovers
  • Sunday: BBQ burgers wrapped in lettuce with tomato/onion

 

I have found that when I completely cut most grains from my diet, I shed weight incredibly fast in the beginning, and enjoy greatly improved mental clarity and energy.  Occassionally I will eat rice, and sometimes corn, but those are rare.  I also allow myself potatos from time to time.  For me, just ditching the grains makes a HUGE difference.  From experience I can definately say cutting everything all at once is a surefire path to failure for me.  As my weight loss slows, I will have to make adjustments.  But for now, this works for me.

Leave a Reply

