Monday: Menu Planning

In an attempt to be accountable on a daily basis I have decided that daily blogging is an important element for me.   I realize not every post will be witty, groundbreaking, or cathartic.  And being a perfectionist, I often begin trying to write something, but am at a loss for what to say.  So in the interest of being consistent and accountable, I will assign certain topics to certain days. I’ve got to start somewhere, right? Right!   So from here forward, Monday will be Menu Mondays!

There are so many different versions of paleo/low carb diets.  I know my weaknesses and my strengths.  I would have to say that the weakness that sabatoges me the most is my need to prepare.  For some versions of this way of life, people count every carb, protein, sugar, etc.  I know from experience that I just cant do that.  Usually I start off with the best of intentions. I count EVERYTHING. I fixate, and wind up spending so much time doing the counting and recording that I fall behind, realize that while I was calculating, I missed a meal. Now I’m starving, and oops, didn’t get a chance to prepare because I was calculating instead of preparing yesterday.   It’s a terrible cycle that leads me down the road to failure every time.  Some clean eaters cut dairy, most/all cut grains, some cut legumes.  Some use artificial low glycemic sweeteners like Splenda. An ideal paleo diet includes only grass fed/wild meats. For many of us, that is just not a feasible economically.  There is no one way that is right for everyone.  I know that as I evolve in this lifestyle, so will my diet.  I will learn what works for me and what does not.  And with each failure, I will gain success in the form of knowledge to carry forward.

To this point, I have learned ‘counting’ doesn’t work.  I’ve learned that grains (wheat primarily) make me sick.  (lethargic, headaches, bloating, gas, fatigue, heartburn). I will continue to use rice from time to time, but not often. Fermented dairy products don’t seem to affect me negatively but pasteurized milk can often wreak havoc on my digestive tract, and I haven’t yet found a local raw milk provider so that I can see how that works for me.  I do still occasionally drink milk (maybe a couple times a year), and will continue to do so, but only in limited amounts.  I will continue to eat cheeses, sour cream, yogurt, etc.  Legumes are not a huge part of my diet.  I will continue to have an occasional bit of peanuts or beans, but it won’t be frequent.  As time goes by and living without grains becomes normal, I may begin to limit some of the other less clean foods from my diet. But for now, I will live within these confines.

When eating clean, I find I eat less often.  I’m generally happy with 2 meals per day.  I really don’t like to eat very early, and once I start my workday, I forget about eating just for the sake of a scheduled meal.  But usually by 10:00 I’m ready for a bite.  When I’m working from home I make a traditional breakfast, or eat leftovers from the night before. (It takes much less preperation to make one large meal than it does to make 2 smaller ones!) When away from home I will pack some leftovers, or eat at one of a couple paleo friendly places (which are few and far between in rural Oklahoma, home of the biscuit and gravy)  Dinner can be a bit trickier, since I work my regular 9-5, plus attend sporting events several times a week in the evenings.  Sometimes I’m able to prepare before leaving and will eat between 4:00 and 5:00.  Sometimes there just isn’t enough time.  Thats when it gets tricky and I tend to make bad choices.  As part of this lifestyle, I am still needing to find speedy alternatives that will help me to make sure healthy, FILLING foods are available while minimizing the amount of food thrown in the trash each week.  (I’m terrible about buying too much and not getting to it before it spoils!) There as GOT to be a happy medium!  Does anyone else struggle with this issue?  I’m certain this is something I will be blogging about / struggling with for a while.  I’m open for suggestions!

Anyways… without further ado…. Happy Menu Planning Monday!

Monday:  Primal Enchilada Casserole, Salad :  This recipe uses chicken (recovered from last nights roast chicken), and homemade cauliflower tortillas, sauce, and of course,  cheese.

Tuesday:  Smoked Sausage with fried potatoes/onions, corn.  (Potatos and corn are also not a regular staple in my home, but are eaten from time to time, especially when returning to clean eating while I re-wean from wheat)

Wednesday: Paleo Chicken and Biscuits (using the remainder of the leftover chicken)

Thursday: Crab Legs with melted ghee, Asparagus, Salad, Paleo Cheddar Biscuits

Friday: Meatloaf, Cauliflower ‘mac’ and Cheese, Green Beans

Saturday: Paleo Chili Dogs (Smoked sausages, Homeade Chili con carne, mustard, onions, cheese), and veggie sticks.  (I’ll be photographing a baseball game… dont judge!)

Sunday:  (Easter):  Roast of Lamb.  rosemary potatoes, Salad, asparagus.

Food Diary for Sunday 3/29/15:

Breakfast (skipped…. just got busy and forgot!)

Dinner: Spatchcocked Roast Chicken, Broccoli with cheese sauce (cheddar and heavy cream), and Baked sweet potato.

Snack: Clementine orange, Banana,… and 1 PEEP ( and now they are all out of the house!)

Leave a Reply

