Playing Catch Up!

As you may have noticed, I’ve been a little absent for a few weeks.  This was not a sign that I have quit, but rather that I had to prioritize.  Between doctors appointments, the day job, and the sports photography, time has been limited.  I spend so much time at the computer, I used the little free time I had to get away from it for a while. The result, a much more rested Amy.

Since my last post I have lost an additional 4 lbs. That in itself wasn’t SUCH a big deal (even though it is… I’m still losing!)  But what was truly amazing for me was waking up a few days ago, looking in the mirror and thinking, ‘You’re looking good, girl!’  Moments later I got dressed and realized that suddenly my clothes were fitting much looser!  I thought about tying a rope around my waist to hold my pants up! ( I mean, how many fat girls do YOU know that have or NEED a belt!)  In the end, I just let it be, and left the house, happy that my belly button wasn’t peeking out from below my shirt  when I raised my arms (Yet another victory!)  Oh, and of course, I had the ENERGY to lift my arms over my head!  All in all, it was an amazing day!

As I mentioned in my last post, I am still severely anemic, so per my doctors request, I visited the
OB/GYN.  We visited for a bit and discussed all of my symptoms.  We discussed the possible need for a hysterectomy, and the remote possibilty of cancer.  Yes, I said the “C” word.  Now, as I said, it’s a REMOTE possibility, but since we have a family history of uterine cancer, I am now scheduled for a pelvic ultrasound AND an endometrial biopsy.  Funny how even the slightest possibility of something like that will kick you in the butt and make you desire to be healthy even more.

So now I just keep moving forward and take it one day at a time, focusing on diet until we can get the anemia under control.  I look forward to the day when I can add exercise to my plan.  But right now It leaves me so drained and weak that I have no energy for anything else. Instead, I’ve done all my laundry, cleaned my kitchen, grocery shopped and cooked.  I’m feeling rather accomplished! lol

The menu for the week is planned, and I’m pretty excited to try some new recipes!  Right now I have a big pot of chili on the stove simmering.  Yum!  For the rest of the week:

MondayHoisin Meatballs(Hoisin Sauce), and Fried Rice (I realize rice is not paleo, but I need to use it up, and right now I’m just readjusting to being wheat free… thats a big one to start with.)

Tuesday: Crustless Skillet pizza, Salad

Wednesday: Leftovers

Thursday: Scallops and Asparagus with White Wine Dijon sauce (I’m super excited to try this recipe!),

Friday: Sloppy Joe Stuffed Bell Peppers

It will be another busy week. Besides the normal 9-5 daily grind, I’ve got lots of pictures to process.  I photographed a dance recital for the first time today, and what a challenge THAT was.  Talk about lighting issues!  I’m already planning for my next new lens!  Next year I will be ready! Then there is a soccer game to photograph on Thursday, and the the wrestling Dual State Meet on Saturday.  Not to mention the completion of a top secret project!

But it’s Sunday night and I’m not going to think about all of that for tonight.  Why? Well, it’s The Walking Dead mid season premiere tonight! What else?  Happy watching, my fellow walker fans!

Leave a Reply

